dreamshark: (Default)
[personal profile] dreamshark
The Coen brothers seem to have pretty much stopped making movies and are just goofing around with their friends in front of a lot of very expensive cameras. I actually watched the special features, and it explained a lot. As The Brothers tell it, they just sat around making up funny characters for various of their actor friends, dreamed up a series of unconnected scenes featuring various combinations of these characters, and then made up a goofy story that would tie them all together. About 2/3 of the way through the movie they got bored with goofy and start killing people off in sudden, unexpected bursts of violence (not a spoiler if you have ever seen any of their other movies. And if you haven't you should start with one that is better than this one.). In other words, it has its moments of hilarity but as a movie it's not very good.

[livejournal.com profile] thorintatge, feel free to send it back as soon as you've watched it.

BTW, has anybody else noticed how much Joel Coen is starting to resemble Bob Dylan as he looked about 20 years ago?

Date: 2009-08-16 02:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] emerdavid.livejournal.com
At last! Someone who feels the same way I do about "Burn After Reading". It got all that critical and media attention, but I felt so disappointed upon seeing it. For a while I thought it was just me -- I just didn't get it somehow.

On the other hand, I'm looking forward to their St. Louis Park movie, which should be out soon.

Profile

dreamshark: (Default)
dreamshark
March 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 2026

Style Credit