dreamshark: (Default)
I had no idea - just saw it on Nextdoor today. The carjacking actually failed (as a surprising number of them do), nobody was hurt, and 4 of the 5 perps were apprehended. The entire thing was captured on one of those increasingly common door cameras. So I know which house it was in front of (actually 5 doors down from me, not RIGHT in front of my house). I don't know who was in the targeted vehicle, though. Not, I think, a resident of that house from the way it was reported. 

A woman was parking her minivan when a white car came swooping down from the other direction and parked off her left front fender, apparently trying to cut her off. Two guys jump out and approach both sides of her vehicle. Then for some reason they jump back in the car and move it forward, smashing into the drivers side of her van. I guess they were trying to do a better job of immobilizing it? Which they did, but in the process they also disabled their own car. Then FIVE guys jump out of the white car and flee. Running south, so they ran right past our house. Reportedly the woman was loudly honking her horn, which may have spooked them. Or they may have just realized that the cars were now locked together so neither one could be driven. 

Police showed up (as they usually do, at least in my neighborhood) and quickly apprehended 4 of the 5 guys, reportedly with the help of a helicopter. There is even a picture of police tape blocking off part of our block. But it's gone now, as are both of the vehicles involved. Richard was working outside most of the afternoon and evening putting up Christmas decorations and he knew nothing about it, so it probably happened in the morning before he was up. 

ETA  4pm.  Talked with the neighbors and found out that the victim was the sister of my next door neighbor, Pat!  It was on WCCO last night, including the doorbell video and an interview with Pat. You can see it all here. About 40 seconds into the segment there is a brief, random shot of both of our vehicles parked on the street in front of our house (although that's not quite where the incident took place). 
dreamshark: (Default)
Because terrifying things are happening in my neighborhood recently. Muggings and car-jackings and even an attempted kidnapping. None are directly related to the ongoing civil unrest, but indirectly I suppose they all are. People are just stirred up, and some of those stirred up people are cruel and predatory. Right now Minneapolis feels like a disturbed hornets' nest. Homicides have doubled in the city this year, mostly gang violence involving guns. But that's not what is going on in my neighborhood (SW Minneapolis). 

There have been two attacks in the past few weeks within 2 blocks of my house. Both of those followed the MO that has become common (possibly gang initiations). A dark-colored vehicle with no license plates starts following someone (usually a woman walking alone or getting into a car). The vehicle stops a short distance from the target. 3 or 4 teenagers jump out and swarm the victim, roughing her up, and grabbing her purse or phone or jumping into her car and trying to steal it. In most cases the attackers are not armed, so there have been few serious injuries. In most of the cases I have heard about from neighbors the victim has screamed, neighbors have come running to help, and the perps leaped into the waiting car and escaped (with or without the purse or phone). There have been a few other totally different type cases that appear to be attempted sexual assaults. There was one guy who tried to grab a young woman walking on 42nd Street in broad daylight and force her into his car (she fought him off) and a creepy lurker who hangs out on the walking path along Minnehaha Creek and gropes or threatens passing women.  

This is a huge change from what I am used to in this part of town, and it is terrifying. The one bright spot is that when people yell for help, neighbors respond and the perps run. Thus the safety whistle. I ordered a pair and Richard has agreed to carry one when he goes on his nightly walks. Now I just have to figure out exactly when I need to wear mine. Walking at night, it seems like a no-brainer. But most of these attacks have been in broad daylight. I am not used to the idea that walking up to Lyndale in the middle of the day to mail a letter is a dangerous undertaking, but I guess it is now, so I will try to remember to wear my whistle when I go out. Is bike riding dangerous? I have not heard of anyone being attacked on a bike, but it is not impossible. I suppose I should wear the whistle for that too. How about just going out in the yard? I haven't heard of anyone being set up on in their yard - this particular crime wave seems to be car-centered. 

I don't like writing about this, but most of my meager following lives in Minneapolis and I consider this something of a PSA. When you go out, be alert for cars or people following you. Listen for screams or safety whistles and be prepared to run to help. The woman who was attacked yesterday screamed loud enough that the younger ears on my end of my block all heard her (Richard and I did not). She apparently did a great job of making noise, but did not specifically yell "Help!" or any other coherent message, so some of the people who heard it assumed it was just kids making noise. So if someone does attack you, remember to yell "Help! Leave me alone! Call the police!" or something that makes it clear what is going on. Be alert and stay in touch with your neighbors. 

Profile

dreamshark: (Default)
dreamshark
March 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 2026

Style Credit